WRITING BLOGS 101, SERIALLY LOST – DAY 4

Today’s Prompt: Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

I’ll have to provide some background for this one. I moved to North Carolina when I lost my job in San Jose, CA. It wasn’t a bad thing as it happened with the dot.com bust in 2001, but I really miss the scenery, weather and all the things to do. However the cost of living there (Outragous!!) I do not miss.

We were lucky that my husband already had a job offer with an old boss from San Jose who had moved to NC. All I had to do was find a new job. I really like starting a new job as it is a different adventure and will hopefully challenge me. Before 2001 the longest I have had a job was for 2 1/2 years and then the company was bought out and I was let go.

I had been working administrative type jobs for the last 5 years before we moved to NC, so that is what I was looking for in a job. I interviewed for a temporary administrative assistant job for a woman who was about to go on maternity leave. The interviewers were great and they liked me so much they offered me a job after I finished covering for the administrative assistant while she was on maternity leave. I was amazed and felt very blessed.

I would have never thought to work in the commercial insurance industry, but that is where I got the job. Crazy huh?! It isn’t an industry I would have ever considered or really had thought was an industry. I was very fortunate that the office manager was one who believed in motivating and keeping people like myself challenged for a positive work environment. I learned a lot from working with different programs, to managing a database and underwriting commercial insurance accounts.

However back in 2008 . . .

TO BE CONTINUED TOMORROW . . .

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. lilypup
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 20:37:07

    Good job on this post. I like how you enjoy changing jobs. My husband worked at the same job 31 years! I think moving around is much more the norm nowadays.
    Are you finding these prompts getting a little harder? I feel sort of drained.

    Like

    Reply

    • kmcmcurtis7
      Apr 09, 2015 @ 20:51:11

      Oh yeah, they are getting harder! Making me think harder. But doing it is bring out creative juices to do the blog which I need to find.

      We can do it!!!! (Keep telling ourselves that and it will come true)

      Like

      Reply

  2. Laura Clark
    Apr 09, 2015 @ 20:57:31

    Really enjoyed this post. Losing a job can create a big change in life so it’s good to read that you were positive about changing jobs.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

