WRITING BLOGS 101, SERIALLY LOST – DAY 4 continued & finished

Back in 2008 my company, we will call Company A, was bought by Corporation B for our programs as in the insurance industry we had great programs. Being bought by another company makes for a very anxious environment as you do not know if you will be losing your job and when you will lose it. Over the next 3 years, our office went from around 300+ employees to less than 50. It was a very toxic environment to work in. I was fortunate that I worked in a specialized department and we were not let go, but the not know if we would be is very taxing on a person.

A few years later our specialized department was to merge with the Corporation B’s corresponding department. However they were still using paper files and we had been paperless for many years. So we had to train them how to work in that type of environment and train them on our systems. However their department was significantly larger than ours, so the stress was increased yet again. Would we keep our jobs after we trained them on our systems?

We finally were informed that our jobs were safe much to our relief. I knew our systems so well that many of my co-workers would call me before they would call our Help Desk as they knew I could figure out what the problem the majority of the time I worked my rear off, went out of my way to help others when they asked and yet I was not feel valued or appreciated. My immediate supervisor appreciated me and various people cross country loved me, nothing so much from up the food chain. Management would keep telling us that everything would improve as they keep making changes to improve it. Forgive me if I had trouble believing this after several years.

Fast forward to December 2014, December is our high activity time. We are in the weeds almost constantly with work. However this December I went outside my authority and released a quote to a customer without authorization. This is not something I would normally do and not sure why I did it. I knew I would either be put on probation or fired. Before I found out what the decision would be, I decide to turn in my 2 week notice. What mad me make that decision is one particular manager had it out for me as he could never find fault with me. Not bragging, I am just that anal retentive. Knowing that I would have to deal with him because I messed up was not worth me staying and dealing with that unnecessary pressure.

So I resigned. Best decision I have ever made!! Just after the 2nd day away I felt like a new person. I was not mentally and emotionally exhausted like I had been almost every day working there for years You do not realize how much something is affecting you till you leave it behind and honestly it was killing me.

So now happily unemployed, I figured out what I really want to do . . . website programming and development. I have always been good with picking up programs and figuring out how to fix problems or find a way around them. And my anal retentive nature is definitely a plus. 😀 My next door neighbor had taken an 8 week coding immersion boot camp for websites. He had a job before he finished the camp. So this is what I am going to do and I start the camp April 20th. Yay me! I cannot wait to start a new career that I will have flexibility on where I want to work.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ninakimani11
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 21:29:53

    This is inspiring. Not so many people takes the courage to quit without any plans of what next. Am glad you finally came up with your new carrier.All the best in your new journey.

    Like

    Reply

  2. awritershelper
    Apr 10, 2015 @ 22:20:09

    Yes. It’s frightening to step outside the box and put your foot down firmly onto a new chapter in life. A toast: Here’s to you and new beginnings, cheers!
    It is something–what writing can do to our perspective. You said: “I went outside my authority and released a quote to a customer without authorization. This is not something I would normally do and not sure why I did it.”
    I think you were. But perhaps I’m seeing things in your words that you don’t yet recognize. Writing does that all the time to writers. (Then again, I might be wrong.) Either way, keep us posted! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

