WRITING BLOGS 101, POINT OF VIEW– DAY 9 (missed days 7 & 8)

Today’s Prompt: A man and a woman walk through the park together, holding hands. They pass an old woman sitting on a bench. The old woman is knitting a small, red sweater. The man begins to cry. Write this scene.

We encourage you to give fiction a try, even if that not what you normally do — it can be a fun way to stretch. If fiction feels like a bridge to far, take some element from the scene that speaks to you, and write a non-fiction piece about that. Perhaps you are drawn to the old woman, and will write a piece about your grandmother, or the crying man will inspire a story about the last time you cried joyful tears.

Hmm, getting my brain back in this after missing 2 days. 😦

This brings me back to a few years ago when my husband’s grandfather passed away. His grandfather was his grandfather and father figure in one. And they were very close. He was a wonderful kind-hearted individual that would reach out to help those in need. He was also a wonderful cook especially his spaghetti (So miss that spaghetti!!) So many wonderful memories of visiting their house and having around 20 or so people eating dinner.

He was diagnosed with Stage 4 renal cancer (hoping I remember that right) and suffered over a long period of time before he passed. I do not know how many of you have dealt with this watching someone suffer over a long period of time, but it is very emotionally and mentally wearing. You can only do so much for them and you tend to wrack your brain trying to think if there is something more you can do. And this is not just for doing something to help the patient, but thinking if there is something you can do to help the rest of the family going through this period of time.

I know many do not want their loved ones to pass away quickly as they want more time with them, but seeing one of my grandfathers and my husband grandfather suffer for a long time with cancer before passing on, I would rather have it happen quickly. I know I’m a horrible person to some of you for saying that. However having it happen quickly would shorten the time they have to suffer and all that goes with that; then I am for it being quick. I would never want someone to suffer a long period of time for me and would not want the same thing happen to myself. Sure I would like to have more time, but not if the quality of life is pain, being drugged and no cure for the disease, etc.

I went a bit on tangent, but after his grandfather passed away it was very hard for my husband to deal with his passing. He essentially lost his father. Crying is not something my husband does often, but when he does you know he is seriously upset. Through this time in the last months of his grandfather’s life and afterwards he cried and it broke my heart as all I could offer was a shoulder to cry on and be his rock.

My husband has survived this trauma and has a couple things of his grandfather’s for remembrance. A coffee mug that he uses almost all the time when he gets coffee and a huge and not so pretty Hawaii shirt. These little things help him remember the good time and move on with his life still trying to be the man his grandfather would be proud of. 🙂

** Not exactly on topic, but not too far off.**

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. K E Garland
    Apr 16, 2015 @ 19:54:32

    What a great memory. Seems like something you would write about for the series of loss posts

    Like

    Reply

    • kmcmcurtis7
      Apr 16, 2015 @ 21:07:46

      True. I just didn’t think of it. I picked this from the 2 words crying and the sweater. Sweater as a memory of a person coincided with the Hawaiian shirt my husband has from his grandfather. Thanks for the comment!!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

