WRITING BLOGS 101, Size Matters (In Sentences)– DAY 11

Today’s Prompt: Where did you live when you were 12 years old? Which town, city, and country? Was it a house or an apartment? A boarding school or foster home? An airstream or an RV? Who lived there with you?

So write with a combination of short, medium, and long sentences. Create a sound that pleases the reader’s ear. Don’t just write words. Write music.

When I was 12 years old I lived in Martinez, GA.  My home was a light tan one-story 3 bedroom house. My mother was meticulous with the the front lawn and everything had it’s place in the yard.  Roses on both sides of the front door and red tip bushes all trimmed to the exact same height and width that lined the front lawn like a fence.

However the backyard, a project of my mom’s is the part which I loved.  When we moved into our new home the backyard was split in two by a small creek that ran from one end to the other.  On the farside of the creek there was a wall of trees and bamboo which we eventually cleared out and found snakes (Ewww!), rabbits, squirrels and other various wildlife.  I have lots of memories of clearing out the woods and eventually backyard, playing on the swing set and watching our dashund chase and almost catch squirrels every day.  If the dog ever caught one, I do not believe she would know what to do with the squirrel.

Most parents in our neighborhood told their kids to stay out of the woods and creek that wrapped around the back of  the neighborhood.   Needless to say, no kid listened to that warning.  🙂  I was no exception.  We fled to the woods and creek almost everyday until dusk when we had to be home for dinner.  We created trails, forts made out of vines or wood, bike tracks to ride around, collected baby turtles for a turtle farm (They were smaller than my hand.), swings over the creek and various other adventures.

I wish my daughter could enjoy a life like I had, where she could wander through the neighborhood and woods safely, where when you did something wrong someone else’s parents would have told your parents before you got home for dinner.  So much has changed since then and it is not as safe as it used to be, but I would not trade my childhood memories for the world.

I had my 10 year old daughter read this for me before I published it.  She approved

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy Sampson
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 22:24:54

    Those were the days!

    Like

    Reply

  2. padrespaleale
    Apr 20, 2015 @ 22:59:02

    I can see why your 10 year old approved this. Wonderful read.

    Like

    Reply

  3. ansumani
    Apr 28, 2015 @ 03:46:00

    There is no joy like playing outdoors with friends. Nice description of home.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

