First day of Coding Immersion boot camp

Finally the first day of class!  I did not think it would ever come.  I am so ready to start a new career.

One of the first things that really stood out is the coding/programming is close-knit and they help each with finding jobs, socializing and helping each other figure out coding problems together.  My first workshop back in February for “Intro to Ruby”.  It was a free workshop on a Saturday and everyone there volunteered their time to run and assist students in this workshop.  The community is amazing and just even taking half a Saturday to help newbies check out a programming language, Ruby is just awesome.

I have already started learning Ruby via www.teamtreebook.com a few weeks ago.  This website is a great resource for explaining what and why; as well as learning how to code/program with various coding/programming languages.

We will be going over the following:

Web Design (What you see when you look at the website.) – HTML/CSS

Programming Logic/Langauge (Tells the website what to do. Example: Clicking on a button takes you to another page) – Ruby

Web Application Development/Framework (A structure that supports or guides in the building, in this case, an internet website. Maybe not the perfect definition, but how I understand it at the moment. ) – Ruby on Rails

First but not least, you need to understand the very basics of programming.

  1. You must be very specific when you code, as computers are dumb.  The program is only as smart as the person who programmed it.
  2. A program is not just created and done.  Once the program is create, it will be tweaked, tested, fixed and changed regularly as needed for the client it was built for.  From the book Learn to Program, “A program is not built; it is grown.”
  3. Also from the book Learn to Program, DRY rule – Don’t Repeat Yourself.  AVOID duplication of code at all costs.  If not you make more work for yourself later.

That’s all for today.  I do not want to overwhelm any newbies reading this blog.  I am doing this to help anyone, and I do mean anyone, who is considering changing careers to programming.

Please let me know if I missed anything or worded it incorrectly from my techie friends and let me know if you have any questions from my non-techie friends.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sounja
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 12:47:18

    Love, love, love your blog! I’m going back and reading all of the posts. Are you finding the camp to be overwhelming? This is my biggest concern for when I start camp.

    Like

    Reply

    • kmcmcurtis7
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 14:34:28

      It’s the first week, so I believed it would be information overload. I think in the next week some of the information will start making more sense as with practice. Also having the option to use HTML coding in the WordPress blogging helps too. I will definitely be blogging about it.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

