Homework

Day Four of class . . . what can I say other than information overload.  I know that is how the first week would be, but it is taking a while for my brain to process.  I do take notes and yes, I do hand write them down.  They are very messy, but then I rewrite and clean them up (in colors) and it sticks in my head better that way.

I was thinking in a couple weeks I probably think this is not as bad as it seems to me now.  That hindsight thing, you know.  At least I can go back and look at my blog for comparison. 🙂

So today we went over how the client-server model works and it is interesting on the breakdown, but the best way to remember (and this is the majority of the time) the client is the web browser being used and the server is the database the information is being pulled from.  Example when you bring up Facebook on your computer through your web browser, your computer is the client via your web browser.  Facebook’s database is the server.

We also went through a very basic website setup with HTML & CSS coding.  Made some sense, but practice will help it make more sense.

Our homework is for us to set up our own simple websites and jazz it up as much as we can this weekend. Woohoo!  Now hopefully my brain and computer will work with each other. I will post the link for it, once I think it is acceptable to view to the public or at least people who know a little about me.

PS.  If you are thinking of a career change, consider being a programmer.  They are always needed and plenty of jobs out there.  Also if you are a woman, there are scholarships out there to help pay for Immersion camps like I am taking because they want more women in the programming sector.  Feel the love!  I’m taking my camp via Tech Talent South and they are in quite a few cities in the South if you are considering it.

That is all folks!  Have a nice evening!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Why
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 20:45:21

    Love your blog. You mentioned scholarships for wemen, what scholarship is available that you know of?

    Like

    Reply

    • kmcmcurtis7
      Apr 24, 2015 @ 22:04:57

      I know with Tech Talent South they offer them. You need to fill out a form and explain why you deserve and need the scholarship. I got one for $1,200. Every little bit counts.

      Like

      Reply

    • kmcmcurtis7
      Apr 26, 2015 @ 16:02:46

      Hi! Sorry I haven’t replied sooner. It’s been crazy.

      As for the scholarship, most Immersion camp offer it for their female students. So you will need to check with the camp. I have yet to see one that did not. They are trying to get more women into coding due to the fact that the majority of coders (yes stereotype) are white males with lack of social skills. There are exceptions to that rule. However they need people with social skills and most women can do that without trying. I believe the reasoning is that they need someone who can code, but can also talk to the end user and actual figure out what they really want and not have someone figure out how to make it work and not take the end user in mind. I hope that helps answer your question.

      I’ll be posting another post today about the camp.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

