Writing Blogs 101, To Whom It May Concern – Day 14

Today’s Prompt: Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there.

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

Note: I have missed a few days due to starting Coding Immersion and my brain can only do so much, so I’ll do the ones I can. 🙂 Without killing my brain from information overload.

The book I picked was “Latin Via Ovid” my Latin text book from college, as most of my books now are ebooks.  The first word is etiam meaning still or yet.

Left on the voicemail for Mr & Mrs Winchester (Rose’s parents).

Good morning Mr. & Mrs Winchester!  This is Detective Kline from the police department.

I am sorry to inform you as of yet, we have still not discovered the reason Rose was found dead in a very still and laying in the middle of the kitchen.  We are digging further into the case as the autopsy does not show any obvious death due to natural causes.  Our diagnostics lab is doing a more thorough laboratory tests to see if anything else shows up that we may have missed.

We have interviewed many of Rose’s friends and have not been able to find any obvious reason someone would harm her.  If you remember anything at all that may help, please let us know.  It could be something as simple as someone not liking her or her being awarded a scholarship that someone else believed they should have received instead.  People can get very upset over things that other people would not.  So if you noticed anything out of the ordinary, please let us know as it may end up actually be something.

If you do not mind, we would like to send a couple of detectives over to look over her bedroom and see if maybe we can find something to give us a clue to what was going on in her life that would have led to her death.  It has only been a day since she was found, so we want to work as quickly as possible to give you closure and allow you to have the funeral for your daughter.

Also if you just need an ear to listen, please feel free to call and Detective Casey or myself are here for you.

Thank you and please call if you need us for anything.

End of voicemail.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DSP
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 04:27:00

    Very interesting. First that it’s a Latin word, and second the direction of the letter. I wouldn’t have thought about this direction. Maybe I need to make sure I pick a different emotional perspective. Great writing. ~DSP

    Like

    Reply

  2. HumaAq
    Apr 24, 2015 @ 05:53:14

    Nice fictional story

    Like

    Reply

  3. awritershelper
    Apr 27, 2015 @ 06:43:38

    Although I don’t listen to their music, I couldn’t help but think of the band named Guns and Roses. I wonder what the detectives will discover. Perhaps this will be a fun thing to flesh out more. Do you think you might?

    Like

    Reply

    • kmcmcurtis7
      May 01, 2015 @ 01:38:50

      Thanks! I happen to like watching NCIS so that probably came into play on this one. I was in high school when Guns & Roses started. This is really one of my first times to write up fiction. I might go farther into it. We will see!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  4. Em Well
    May 22, 2015 @ 13:02:13

    I just finished writing 101 too. Well worth my time. The places I find inspiration are surprising me. “oh look an acorn, I bet I could write a story about it.”

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

