Ups and Downs

Blog from Nov 24th,

Hi!  It’s been a while.  I’ve been dealing with ups and downs; working out my life and how I am going to pursue it.  The bootcamp I originally took was not enough to get a job by itself.  Little disappointed in that, but I did learn a lot considering what I knew when I went [it wasn’t as much as I thought I knew].  I have someone teaching me Javascript and I am also learning via freecodecamp.com. Wish I had found this website much earlier.  It is a free code camp and your projects consist of actual site you will create for non-profit groups.  Awesome! Once you have done 400 hrs you receive a certificate for Front-End Developer and 800 hrs you receive a certificate for Full Stack Developer.  Since I already know a good bit from the bootcamp, I’m cruising through the first part.  This site teaches you HTML, CSS, Bootstrap, jQuery, Javascript, Json APIs, Ajax, [Get Front End Certificate at this point.] Angular.js, git, Node.js, Express.js, and Mongo DB.  I’m filling in the gaps with this and I like jQuery and Javascript.  Woohoo!!  It’s the little things!

During this time, I’m an Über Driver to make ends meet while I am learning and I’m networking thru Uber (did not plan that).  I have quite a few contacts now for jobs once I get experience and when I am farther along in my learning.  I have received advice and encouragement from those I have Uber-ed.  I think in the past 2 weeks, I have received a lot of encouragement that I really needed.  I felt I had run into a wall and was not getting anywhere.  Everyone does that every now and then and just has to push thru it.  I have pushed thru and going full-steam ahead.  At least now I’m not worrying about things I have no control over (at least today anyway)

I am also creating a mobile application for Family Chores to show what I am capable of and already revised it. Just because you can “g scaffold” does not mean you should!  I did it more than was necessary and then a friend pointed out that I knew a shorter way.  Whoops!  A little over zealous on my part. ☺️  So I have done that all on Ruby on Rails, but I eventually want to create one in Javascript too.  But I’ll wait till I am more Javascript savvy [not too long now].  I still want to work in a “Ruby” house company, so that is what I am aiming.  Knowing the Javascript will be a plus and help with getting a job where I would like to work.  I  want to work somewhere I will be appreciated, valued and challenged.  Anything else on top of that will be a perk.

Outside of learning, my daughter made all A’s on her first report card in middle school and will most likely be in the AIG or Academically & Intellectually Gifted program at school.  Yeah!  She thinks much differently than most people and needs to be challenged at school.  Also she will not have as much problem with her ADD, since it will be a much smaller classroom.

I am so very proud of her accomplishment, now we just need to get her into some kind of outside activity.  Hopefully when I do start a developer job I can get her into horseback riding lessons.  She does love horses and did enjoy riding a neighbor’s horse.  She said it was very calming.  Which is a good thing, since she can meltdown quickly sometimes when something does not go the way it was planned.

Oh I almost forgot, late one night when I was working the airport as an Uber driver, a doe jumped in front of my car and somehow only damaged my Toyota emblem on the front of my car.  OMG! Scared the heck out of me and I had to check several times to make sure I just wasn’t seeing something that was damaged.  My guardian angel was working overtime that night.  Found out the emblem is $50 and all plastic . . . go figure.  But on top of that it screws in from inside the car, so the bumper needs to be removed to replace it.  Needless to say the emblem will be missing for a while. I am thankful that the deer only wanted my Toyota emblem. Ha!

My husband during this time has been working overtime and I am so very, very grateful.  I have told him I will have a regular job by the beginning of next year, but Christmas will be a little tight.  Luckily I also have a very understanding daughter and she wants to help by making money too.  Love her and my hubby so much ❤️.  Words just can’t express it enough!

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

