A Few Months in the Mist – Part 2

Part 2

Now for more information on the different types of AD/HD as it is often not recognized.

There are 3 sub-types of AD/HD (this is the correct way to spell it).

  1. Inattentive: A person with this type must have at least six of these nine symptoms, and very few of the symptoms of hyperactive-impulsive type:
  •     Not paying attention to detail
  •     Making careless mistakes
  •     Failing to pay attention and keep on task
  •     Not listening
  •     Being unable to follow or understand instructions
  •     Avoiding tasks that involve effort
  •     Being distracted
  •     Being forgetful
  •     Losing things that are needed to complete tasks
  1. Hyperactive-Impulsive Type: To have this type, a person has to have at least six of these nine symptoms, and very few of the symptoms of inattentive type:
  •     Fidgeting
  •     Squirming
  •     Getting up often when seated
  •     Running or climbing at inappropriate times
  •     Having trouble playing quietly
  •     Talking too much
  •     Talking out of turn or blurting out
  •     Interrupting
  •     Often “on the go” as if “driven by a motor”
  1. Combined Type: This is the most common type of ADHD. People with it have symptoms of both inattentive and hyperactive-impulsive types.

(Reference: http://www.webmd.com/add-adhd/guide/types-of-adhd)

I can say that discovering I had ADD was like a “lightbulb” in my brain coming on!  So many things make so much more sense now.  I used to get migraines all the time at my old job, but now I know I was just so overstimulated that it would develop in a migraine.  Part of it definitely was my fault as I was the “go-to” person and I knew I could probably help out the majority of the time.  I overworked myself trying to do my own job and assisting everyone, because I knew they relied on me to figure out the problem.  But that was not my job, but HelpDesk job.  However because our department was known for our quick turnover time for quotes, the HelpDesk was not always able to assist us in a timely manner for our needs.  In other words, I could usually figure it out much more efficiently and enable us to move on.  The “go-to” person that I had become enabled me to stay much longer at that position even when I was miserable and kept me somewhat challenged as a constant “humdrum” is definitely not my cup of tea.  Unfortunately “humdrum” tends to be boring and I would make careless mistakes that I normally would not make on difficult work that challenged me.  Needless to say that leaving that position and taking a hiatus to figure out what I wanted to do was a GodSend.

Also during this time, my daughter started having issues with focusing in school.  We have been trying to keep her off medication for ADD as long as possible.  From the research I had done, one of the issues that I found that would help would be to change is our diet.  I did not completely cut out sugar all at once as I knew that would be really hard and taking it a little at a time would be easier to change our diet into a lifestyle.  I removed anything with 10 mg or more of sugar, items with Red #40 dye (Can dramatically affect brain functions.  More information: http://www.amenclinics.com/blog/brain-health-guide-red-dye-40/), more fresh vegetables and fruit (some frozen in there too) and I bought a steamer to cook healthier.  The steamer was a great idea as it is easy to use and a great way to eat healthier.  On the plus side, my husband and I have lost weight from changing our diet and my daughter can focus in school now by just changing the diet.  The first week was the hardest, but we survived and we aren’t munching on junk between meals now (Huge in losing weight!).   On top of that, hopefully this will improve my high cholesterol.  We will see the next time I have it checked.  I have high hopes on that one.  Now we have just have to work on the regular exercising regime. One step at a time is the best way to do it.

Oh and my husband can tell the difference in me since I started the ADD medication and changing our diet.  That says more than any other measurement on what a difference this change has made in my life.  Also I have dropped around 20+ pounds since March 2016.  Now I just need to get working out on a regular basis.

One step at a time. . .

Leave a Reply

antryump

"A Blog worth reading "

PetCareChoice.com

Healthy Pets are Happy Pets

life as seen by me

how my mind works????

The Wacky World of River Hayden

Yes, I am weird. Yes, I am proud of that.

Love Yourself Again

A safe space of solace, understanding, and healing

homemade naturally

JOIN MY JOURNEY

Ctrl. Alt. Believe.

One Tech Novice. One Programming Boot camp. One Heck Of A Journey!

My Free Zone

My space unit about my life,the people around me and the happening's.

MY OWN PRIVATE IDAHO

My words will either attract a strong mind or offend a weak one.

